Series of other transactions announced ahead of Monday’s CFL roster deadline

The Hamilton Tiger-Cats announced Monday the football club has signed three players, including American offensive lineman Jordan Murray (pictured), American defensive end Jalen Bates, and national defensive lineman Marshall Esokpunwu (EE-sawk-POON-woo). All three players have been added to the suspended list while they complete their quarantine periods.

Murray, 24, most recently helped the Generals win a championship in the Spring League in 2020. He also attended rookie minicamp with the National Football League’s Seattle Seahawks in 2019. The 6-9, 325-pound native of Coppell, Texas played 44 games over four seasons at the University of North Texas (2015-18) where he saw time at both tackle and guard throughout his collegiate career.

Bates, 24, most recently played 12 games in his senior season at Colorado State University (2019), registering 46 total tackles, 2.5 tackles for loss, one quarterback sack and two pass deflections. The 6-4, 246-pound native of Kaplan, Louisiana spent the four previous seasons at Arizona State University (2015-18) where he played in 18 games, registering 31 total tackles, six tackles for loss, one quarterback sack, one pass deflection and one forced fumble for the Sun Devils.

Esokpunwu, 25, played 24 games over five seasons at Mount Allison University (2015-20). The 6-5, 240-pound native of Brampton, Ontario registered 48 total tackles, 14.5 tackles for loss, 4.5 quarterback sacks and two forced fumbles in his career with the Mounties.

The Tiger-Cats also announced a series of other transactions in accordance with today’s Canadian Football League roster deadline.

The following three players have been released:
USA – DB – Maurice Carnell IV
USA – DB – Jomon Dotson
USA – OL – Jaelin Fisher

The following two players, in addition to Bates, Murray and Esokpunwu, have been added to the suspended list:
USA – WR – Emmanuel Butler
GLO – DE – Valentin Gnahoua

More News
Ticats Today - August 2
1 hour ago
August 2: Jeremiah Masoli
4 hours ago
August 2: Orlondo Steinauer
4 hours ago
August 1: Jaelon Acklin
1 day ago
August 1: Brandon Banks
1 day ago
August 1: Orlondo Steinauer
1 day ago